Adin Masencamp Billabong Junior Series Champion, Crowned at Seal Point

The 19th annual Billabong Junior Series champions were crowned at Seal Point in Cape St Francis after the second and final event in 2016 series was completed in highly contestable one metre waves and a stiff onshore breeze on Sunday.

14560143_1052923281487287_6517752309433533098_o serieswinners_kody featuredadin_kody

Adin Masencamp (Strand) and Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) clinched the coveted U18 boys’ and girls’ Billabong Junior Series titles. The pair also topped the World Surf League (WSL) regional rankings lists and were crowned 2016 WSL Africa Junior champions.

Masencamp secured both his titles after posting a phenomenal 17.93 heat total, including a near-perfect 9.33, in his semi-final victory over Ford van Jaarsveldt (Kommetjie). Masencamp went on to fall on two of his three rides in the final, finishing runner-up to 16 year-old Sebastian Williams (Durban), but his second place in the event was enough to earn the series crown and to overtake Jordy Maree (Kommetjie) on the WSL Africa Junior rankings.


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt